Earl Grey Tea Cakes

HI! Remember me? It’s been over a month. I’m an atrocious blogger, I know. Lots has happened over the last few weeks, now that I think back over it, there really has been loads. Excuses excuses.

I came across this recipe thanks to the lovely Eat Meets West, a new food blogger I’ve been following on twitter. Make sure you take a look around her site (after you’ve finished reading this post, of course).

Let me introduce to something. Earl Grey Tea. Reader, meet Tea. Tea, meet reader.

Tea is not my most favourite drink, unless it’s a long island iced or a plain iced, I’ll generally stick to coffee. The idea of Earl Grey Tea Cakes tickled my fancy though, add in the whimsical purple frosting and I just couldn’t resist. The tea bags found their way into my basket at the store & I came straight home to make them.

This does have me wondering though, what else can I flavour the milk with…?

Cake is cake, I’m sure you’ve seen the step by steps before. Butter & sugar, add eggs, alternate milk & flour, et voila. You have cake mix. The same goes for this, BUT you add an extra step. Warm the milk on the stove & steep the tea bags for about half an hour. Then you used the steeped milk.

Earl Grey Tea Cakes

from Eat Meets West

Makes 12

Cake

  • 125 ml milk
  • 4 Earl Grey tea bags
  • 110g butter
  • 225g sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • ¼ tsp vanilla essence
  • 125g self-raising flour
  • 120g plain flour

Icing

  • 115g butter
  • 60 ml milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 500g icing sugar
  • Purple (or blue and red) food colouring

1. Preheat your oven to 180C and prepare a 12 hole muffin tray.

2. Heat milk in a small sauce pan over a low to medium heat until it begins to boil. Remove from the heat, add in the teabags, you might need to stir them to get them going, then cover with a lid and allow to steep for about 30 minutes.

3. Cream butter and sugar in a bowl until the mixture is smooth. Add the vanilla extract and eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition.

4. Combine the flours in a separate bowl. Add a third of the flour to the butter mixture and mix well. Pour in a third of the steeped milk tea and beat. Alternate until all the flour and milk has been added. Carefully spoon mixture into papers, filling each one two-thirds full. Bake for 25 minutes, or until a skewer comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack.

5. To make icing, beat butter, milk, vanilla and half the icing sugar until smooth. Gradually add the rest of icing sugar until there are no lumps. Add colouring using a teaspoon until the desired colour is reached. (you can try without the teaspoon like I did, but you might end up with a really dark blue purple icing, rather than a nice soft lilac/lavender colour).

6. Once completely cooled, ice the cupcakes and enjoy.

4 thoughts on “Earl Grey Tea Cakes

  1. I have found dipping the handle part of the spoon into the dye container and then mixing that around in the mixture gives the nice tint. Sometimes I will tip a bit into half and egg shell and just dip the handle in multiple times till I am happy with the colour 😀

    • I WISH I had thought it through a little more. It ended up so dark I had to botch an icing together. It still worked but some forethought would have helped! Those are such good ideas though, you have so much more control over the colour that way.

      • I did this when I wanted to create swirls one time, then realised it is a great way to slowly tint using food dye 😀 and it’s not like you don’t have some egg shells lying around. I was trying to find a little bowl but still had half an egg shell on the bench =]

  2. Wow, these look absolutely amazing! Early Grey is my favorite tea and these just look scrumptious! I’ll have to give these a try! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

