Buttermilk Pancakes

These are my favourite weekend treat. I’m not a big fan of the big, fat, fluffy pancakes and while I love crepes, they’re a lot of effort.

Buttermilk pancakes are a perfect combination of the two, they’re a little bit thick, but not stodgy and they’re a little bit thin, but have some substance. I love them.

The best part is? There’s no real prep or waiting for half an hour. Just mix it all up & you’re good to go!

You’ll need some ingredients, of course.

Put all the dry ingredients in a bowl & whisk together.

Add the egg and the butter milk

Whisk it all together until it’s smooth

Pancakes aren’t hard to make either. Use a non stick pan over a medium low heat (this is important!) and spoon it in. A ladle works well & helps to keep them a consistent size.

Once it gets bubbly, and the bubbles stay popped (the mixture doesn’t close them over), they’re good to turn.

Perfect!

Depending on how long you’ll wait until you serve them, you can just stack them up or pop them into a very low oven to keep warm.

Serve them with what ever you like. Jam & cream, maple syrup and ice cream, fresh fruit, chocolate sauce. The possibilities are almost endless.

I decided to try the kiwi jam I made recently. It was delicious!

Buttermilk Pancakes

Serves 2 hungry people or 4 sensible people

Adapted from Our Family Table

  • 1 C self raising flour
  • 1/4 t bicarb soda
  • 1/4 C caster sugar
  • 1 1/4 C buttermilk*
  • 1 egg
  1. Whisk dry ingredients together until well combined
  2. Add egg and milk and mix well
  3. Heat a non stick pan on medium low and spoon in mixture
  4. Once bubbles form and hold shape once popped, flip and cook for another minute or so
  5. Keep warm in a low oven or serve immediately

*Buttermilk is soured milk Add 1 tablespoon of vinegar into the cup measure before adding milk & let it sit. For 1 1/4 cups add a little more than 1 T of vinegar. Do this first, then get the other ingredients ready. This will allow it time to develop.

7 thoughts on “Buttermilk Pancakes

  1. Everything about this looks amazing (& so, so tasty!)
    I’m not a fan of the fat pancakes either, so this looks like the perfect treat
    I now know what I’m making tomorrow
    (Though I think I need to buy a better pan or else I’ll end up with half the batter stuck to said pan & I’ll cry! <– yes, this has happened)
    x

  2. Ive never made my own buttermilk, I only ever bought it but this looks so easy it seems like theres no point buying it since youll never use the whole amount you buy! Awesome – this is also another recipe I was going to loook up for my breakfast! Youre saving me a bit of time here lol

  3. Pingback: Red Velvet Cupcakes « Col Panna

  4. Pingback: Strawberry Buttermilk Cake « Col Panna

Leave a Reply

