Vanilla Cake

It doesn’t sound very interesting does it, but you’ll be surprised how many people don’t have one of these. I believe everyone needs to have a vanilla cake in their repertoire. It’s easy to dress up and make pretty, and it should be relatively simple to put together.

This recipe has the most interesting way of putting a cake batter together, I’ll say it, it’s WEIRD! When Mama Bambola & I made it the first time we weren’t entirely convinced. We stuck with it and hey, it works! I’m going to try making the recipe the traditional way too, maybe when I get back. I’ll be sure to fill you in on how it goes.

This vanilla cake recipe is from I am Baker, she prepares a jar of dry mix which gets added to the wet mix. I followed that recipe, to a tee. Twice! TWO whole followed recipes! Are you impressed? You should be, it’s totally not my style.

Let’s get to it!

Firstly, there’s cake tin prep. This is how I do it when I’m being particular. Normally, I just do the bottom one and I’ll spray it all with an oil spray.

Now to the actual cake part.

Beat the butter and add egg whites, one at a time. Don’t worry, it’s odd, I know, and it looks funny, I know!

Tip: If you have two bowl sizes, do this part in a small bowl, it’ll make the process faster.

To this you add milk & vanilla. It probably won’t combine properly, mine didn’t. It just covered me with milk & flecks of butter. Yay. At this stage, I’d transfer it to a bigger bowl.

Sift your dry ingredients. I usually skip this step, but if you’re using plain flour and adding the raising agents, you really do need to do this bit.

Once you’ve transferred the wet ingredients to a bigger bowl, add the dry mix to the wet ingredients & then start mixing, this’ll save some of the mess. Mix it all until it’s combined and smooth. I think we can forgive the recipe it’s strangeness.

Looks good hey? This is enough batter to make two 8 inch cakes. I used a 2L pouring jug* to determine how much to put in each cake tin. Feel free to use scales or any other method you feel comfortable with.

*The recipe makes a little more than 2L of batter.

Then cook, cool and turn out.


There are two of these. Don’t they look great? They’re dense, slightly sweet, but not overly so and they hold up really well when filled with mousse, maltesers & covered in Italian Meringue Butter Cream!

Vanilla Cake

Adapted from I am Baker

makes 2 8 inch round cakes

  • 2 3/4 C flour
  • 1 3/4 C caster sugar
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 3/4 t salt
  • 3/4 C unsalted butter
  • 5 egg whites
  • 1 C milk
  • 2 t vanilla
  1. Preheat oven to 180 C (350 F)
  2. Beat butter on medium high until light in colour.
  3. Add egg whites, one at a time, mixing well between each addition.
  4. Add milk and vanilla.
  5. Sift dry ingredients and add to the wet ingredients.
  6. Mix on medium to high speed until combined and smooth.
  7. Pour into 2 8 inch cake tins and bake for 20-30 minutes.
  8. Cool for ten minutes then turn them out onto a cake rack to cool completely.
One thought on “Vanilla Cake

  1. Pingback: Layer Cake Construction « Col Panna

Leave a Reply

