My Favourite Salad

Happy Monday! It’s a new week and I’m trying this whole “organised” thing. For those who know me, this is quite ambitious, but one has to try these things. We’ll just see how long it lasts.

Now I know salads aren’t really a winter dish, but bear with me. This one is my exception and I have eaten this (or a version thereof) about 4 times in the last few weeks, plus I have it for lunch today. Can’t wait!

Most salads have a base, lettuce is good, english spinach is alright, rocket is better. Or you could go a combination. If you like, skip it altogether!

Then you need some apple, crisp apple. Granny Smith or Pink Lady, Pink Lady is my personal favourite. It has to be a crisp apple though. Did you get that? Crisp.

Then there’s some extra ‘salad stuff’, tomato, capsicum, green beans, snow peas, whatever you feel like. It *is* a salad after all. This time around, we had tomatoes.

Another key ingredient is bacon. Now, please listen to this next piece of information: If you’re going to buy bacon, buy real bacon, not rindless, fatless, flavourless bacon. Buy the real stuff, free range if you can. Yes, it’s pricier, but at least you can enjoy the experience! You’ll need that kind of bacon for this salad. Promise me you’ll buy the real stuff?

Then when it’s all crispy and even more delicious, cut it up! Try not to pick at the delicious morsels before the salad is ready.

Then it’s the dressing. I’ve made up a balsamic reduction which has sugar in it, this has been in my fridge for a while and I love it. Feel free to use your standard balsamic vinegar with some caster sugar. I would. You could also use red wine or white wine vinegar to replace the balsamic. Just make sure you add the sugar.

Then add some good olive oil, you can also add any residual bacon fat from the pan. Go on, I won’t tell anyone.

And some seeded mustard, as well as salt and pepper, of course!

The final key ingredient? Walnuts. Just crush them on top, then mix them through.

What makes this work? The sweet crunch of apple, the salty bacon, the crisp lettuce and soft crunch of the walnuts. It’s so tasty, I can make up a batch of this and eat the entire thing. The best part? It’s healthy so there’s no guilt!

Liv B’s Favourite Salad

The recipe is going to be my favourite version of this salad.

Serves 4

Salad

  • 1 head of lettuce/english spinach/rocket leaves, or you can go for one of those prepacked bags.
  • 1 red capsicum, chopped
  • 1/2 cucumber, chopped
  • 2 rashers of bacon, cooked to a crisp and chopped
  • 1 *crisp* apple, finely sliced
  • 1/2-3/4 C crushed walnuts

Dressing

  • 2 T balsamic/red wine/white wine vinegar
  • 1 t caster sugar
  • 4 T olive oil
  • 2 t seeded mustard
  • salt and pepper
  1. Combine salad ingredients.
  2. Combine dressing ingredients in a small bowl and mix well.
  3. Pour the dressing over the salad.
  4. Serve.
Come on, how easy  is that?
You could also add roasted chicken to make it a heartier meal. That being said, I could make the above recipe and eat the entire thing. It’s just that good.
Other things you could add
  • Tomato
  • Purple cabbage
  • Carrot ribbons
  • Cucumber
  • Red onion
  • Green beans
  • Snow peas
  • Sugar snaps
  • Finely sliced radish
Go nuts.
2 thoughts on “My Favourite Salad

  1. My salads are NEVER healthy. I fill them with too much stuff that isn’t always good for you. All killer, no filler is my motto! I love how your salad finds the happy balance 🙂

  2. Hai Dear

    This looks yummy….you have a lovely blog…Please check out my blog..It is for food lovers and person who love to cook..You could find so many recipes that you can easily try at home..I update this blog on a regular basis…So please follow me and motivate me..Thank you
    http://yummytummy-aarthi.blogspot.com

    Aarthi

Leave a Reply

