Lemon and Artichoke Roast Chicken

I invited a friend to come over for dinner last week. There were grand plans of complex dishes but unfortunately, after being unwell and starting a new job, I knew I would be drained by the end of the day. Planning ahead is a very good idea, and one I seem to only apply sparingly. I definitely appreciated it on the day!

Roast chicken is one of my favourites. I rarely roast a whole chicken, that’s one of those “scary” dishes. This kind of dish, doesn’t scare me at all. Lemon and artichoke roast chicken. Please don’t let the artichokes deter you. If you don’t like them, feel free to leave them out. I’d encourage you to at least try it though, the flavour is subtle and you can leave it off your plate come serving time.

Take some chicken thighs and some artichoke hearts.

Cut up a lemon.

Combine it all with some baby potatoes and a bit of oil.

Then pop it in the oven! How easy is that?

Roast Chicken with Lemon and Artichoke

Adapted from the latest Delicious magazine.

Serves 5

  • 5 chicken marylands
  • 500g baby potatoes
  • 1 jar artichokes, drained and rinsed
  • 1 lemon, thickly sliced
  • 1/2 C oil
  1. Put everything  (except lemon) in a roasting tray and toss to coat. Season with salt and pepper.
  2. Put a slice of lemon under each piece of chicken.
  3. Roast in a 200 deg oven for half an hour covered in foil.
  4. Take out, uncover, increase heat to 220.
  5. Spoon juices over chicken and roast for another 20-30 minutes.

The original recipe was for about 2kg of chicken pieces, so the second 30 minutes in our oven made for some well done thighs. I really like this recipe for the fact I probably have most of these things in my kitchen at any one time, or I can pick up some chicken on the way home. It’s a little fancy, with not a whole lot of mess or effort. That’s my kind of dinner!

I served this with a salad. However, you could use the left over juices (without the oil) to flavour some spaghetti. I’d probably do that next time.

Leave a Reply

