Tiramisu Cake

What better way to start posting about food, than posting about cake, right?

I was inspired by Caroline Edwards of Chocolate and Carrots. She did a post a while back about a White Russian Tiramisu Cake. I love a good tiramisu, but I’ve had more bad ones than good, so I’m wary of screwing them up. I thought the cake was a great way to get all the flavour with a lot less cream and keeping it lighter. The recipe has been bookmarked for weeks and weeks, waiting for the perfect occasion.

What better occasion than my own birthday!?

I’m not much of a baker, so I cheated and bought a sponge. Does that make me a bad person? I hope not. Sponge is not something I wanted to attempt after a very full weekend. I’ll attempt it one day. Promise.

I’ll stop talking now, you want to know how to make it!

The Cake

  1. Buy one, pick one that comes with two cakes, this might be standard but I’m not in the habit of buying sponge cake.

The Coffee Mix

  1. 2 C brewed coffee
  2. 1/8 C Kahlua (I used Frangelico)

Combine.

The Cream Filling/Topping

  • 250 g mascarpone cheese
  • 250 g cream cheese, softened
  • 1/3 C brown sugar
  • 1/4 C cane sugar (I used white sugar)
  • 1/4 C Kahlúa liquor (again, I used Frangelico instead)
  • dark chocolate, shaved

Mix all ingredients until smooth.

Putting It Together

  • To allow the coffee mix to soak into the cake, I forked it. A lot. Some very deep, some shallow, but I covered it in holes to allow it to soak through the cake.
  • Using a teaspoon, slowly pour the coffee mix over the cake, a little at a time until the first layer of the sponge is covered. Up to about a third of the coffee mix, you want the base to be sturdy, the top layer can have a little extra. (Caroline used about 1/4 C of coffee mix, while I used closer to 1 1/2 C. It depends how much you like the flavour and textures.)
  • Spread a good amount of the cream filling over the first layer, this can be as thick or as thin as you like. The top layer will weigh it down a little.
  • Place the second cake on top and fork it. A lot. You don’t want the cake to be a sopping mess but it’s surprising how much it can hold.
  • Again, using a teaspoon, slowly pour the coffee mix over the cake. It’s not a precise science, you certainly don’t have to use all the coffee mix on the whole cake.
  • Top the cake with as much of the left over cream filling/topping as you please and grate dark chocolate over the top (I left the dark chocolate out).
  • Leave the cake in the fridge for at least 4 hours to set. (True to form I didn’t read this part of the recipe and put it together in the morning and had it at morning tea. It wasn’t set but it was delicious!)

The coffee mix soaked in really well and I was worried it would make the cake fall apart. It didn’t. I would definitely use less of it on the bottom half next time. I also want to try a whipped cream and marscapone filling, just to see how much of a difference it would make.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

